Conducted by Herbert von Karajan, the Wiener Singverein and the Berliner Philharmoniker (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra) perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Requiem Mass in D minor (K. 626).

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem in D Minor. 1976 – Anna Tomowa-Sintow & Agnes Baltsa & Werner Krenn & José van Dam & Berliner Philharmoniker & Herbert von Karajan & Wiener Singverein


Anna Tomowa-Sintow, soprano
Helga Müller-Molinari, mezzo-soprano
Vinson Cole, tenor
Paata Burchuladze, bass


With starting times:

  • 2:05 I. Introitus
  • 7:34 II. Kyrie
  • III. Sequentia
    1. 10:16 Dies irae
    2. 12:09 Tuba mirum
    3. 16:01 Rex tremendae
    4. 18:22 Recordare
    5. 23:32 Confutatis
    6. 25:54 Lacrimosa
  • IV. Offertorium
    1. 29:29 Domine Jesu
    2. 33:22 Hostias
  • 38:00 V. Sanctus
  • 39:50 VI. Benedictus
  • 45:30 VII. Agnus Dei
  • 49:13 VIII. Communio

The Requiem was composed in Vienna in 1791 and left unfinished at the composer’s death on December 5. A completion dated 1792 by Franz Xaver Süssmayr was delivered to Count Franz von Walsegg, who had anonymously commissioned the piece for a Requiem Mass to commemorate the February 14 anniversary of his wife’s death.

The autograph manuscript (acquired by the Austrian National Library in 1831–1838) shows the finished and orchestrated Introit in Mozart’s hand, as well as detailed drafts of the Kyrie and the sequence Dies Irae as far as the first eight bars of the “Lacrymosa” movement, and the Offertory. It cannot be shown to what extent Süssmayr may have depended on now lost “scraps of paper” for the remainder; he later claimed the Sanctus and Agnus Dei as his own. Walsegg probably intended to pass the Requiem off as his own composition, as he is known to have done with other works. This plan was frustrated by a public benefit performance for Mozart’s widow Constanze. A modern contribution to the mythology is Peter Shaffer’s 1979 play Amadeus, in which a mysterious messenger orders Mozart to write a requiem mass, giving no explanation for the order; Mozart (in the play) then comes to believe that the piece is meant to be the requiem mass for his own funeral.

The Requiem is scored for 2 basset horns in F, 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets in D, 3 trombones (alto, tenor & bass), timpani (2 drums), violins, viola and basso continuo (cello, double bass, and organ). The vocal forces include soprano, contralto, tenor, and bass soloists and an SATB mixed choir.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.