Accompanied by the early music ensemble L’Arpeggiata, French countertenor Philippe Jaroussky sings 17th-century arias from the Italian composers: Icônes du Seicento (Icons of the Seicento). The word Seicento simply refers to Italian history and culture during the 17th century. The Seicento saw the end of the Renaissance movement in Italy and the beginning of the Counter-Reformation and the Baroque era. The word Seicento means “six hundred” (sei = six, cento = hundred). Italian art during the 17th century was predominantly Baroque in essence.

Icones du Seicento, Philippe Jaroussky, L’Arpeggiata, Christina Pluhar

L’Arpeggiata is a European early music group led by Christina Pluhar and founded by her in 2000. The group has presented both traditional early music and also several collaged and themed performances and recordings. Ensemble website:

  • Philippe Jaroussky, countertenor
  • Musicians: Christina Pluhar, Alessandro Tampieri, Doron Sherwin, Eero Palviainen, Charles Edouard Fantin, Margit Übellacker, Haru Kitamika, Richard Myron, Michèle Claude.
  • L’Arpeggiata conducted by Christina Pluhar
  • Directed by Olivier Simonnet, Broadcast by Mezzo, 2008.

Icônes du Seicento Programme

With starting times in the video:

  1. 00:01:28 – Anonyme: Ninna nanna al bambino Gesù
  2. 00:06:59 – Maurizio Cazzati: Ciaccona
  3. 00:10:35 – Benedetto Ferrari: Queste pungenti spine
  4. 00:17:41 – Maurizio Cazzati: Passacaglia
  5. 00:21:16 – Pandolfo Mealli: La vinciolina
  6. 00:23:26 – Ignazio Donati: O gloriosa domina
  7. 00:27:27 – Marco Uccellini: La Luciminia contenta
  8. 00:31:30 – Luigi Rossi: Lasciate averno
  9. 00:37:37 – Girolamo Kapsberger: Toccata l’arpeggiata
  10. 00:40:12 – Giovanni Felice Sances: Stabat mater dolorosa
  11. 00:47:12 – Antonio Bertali: Ciaccona
  12. 00:51:44 – Claudio Monteverdi: Laudate Dominum
  13. 00:56:36 – Anonyme: Ciaccona di paradiso et dell’Inferno
  14. 01:00:45 – Claudio Monteverdi: Ohime, ch’io cado
  15. 01:05:29 – Domenico Maria Melli: Dispiegate, guance amate
  16. 01:08:00 – Claudio Monteverdi: Sì dolce è’l tormento


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.