Accompanied by Orchestre de Paris, young French cellist Gautier Capuçon plays Antonín Dvořák’s Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191, the last solo concerto of the Czech composer. Conductor: Paavo Järvi. Filmed in the Salle Pleyel in Paris and directed by François-René Martin.

Gautier Capuçon performs Antonín Dvořák – Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191

The concerto was written in 1894-1895 for Dvořák’s friend, the Czech cellist Hanuš Wihan (5 June 1855 – 1 May 1920), but was premiered in London in 1896 by the English cellist Leo Stern (5 April 1862 – 10 September 1904).

The piece is in the standard three-movement concerto format:

  1. Allegro (B minor then B major)
  2. Adagio, ma non troppo (G major)
  3. Finale: Allegro moderato – Andante – Allegro vivo (B minor then B major)

Dvořák’s cello concerto is widely regarded as one of the greatest cello concertos ever written.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.