Accompanied by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the German classical violinist and pianist Julia Fischer performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218. Conductor: Thomas Søndergård. This performance was recorded in February 2022 at the Southbank Center’s Royal Festival Hall in London.

Accompanied by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Julia Fischer performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218. Conductor: Thomas Søndergård.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218, is one of the most celebrated pieces in the violin repertoire, composed in 1775 when Mozart was just 19 years old. It exemplifies Mozart’s precocious talent and his innate ability to create works that balance depth with a sense of lyrical beauty.

The concerto is characterized by its vivacious energy, intricate violin passages, and the engaging dialogue between the soloist and the orchestra. One can discern the influences of the Mannheim school, particularly in the orchestration and thematic developments, but Mozart’s unique voice remains evident throughout.

The work is replete with melodic grace and harmonic richness, showcasing the violin’s potential both as an expressive voice and a virtuosic instrument. Over the years, this concerto has gained immense popularity and is frequently performed, standing as a testament to Mozart’s enduring genius in the realm of instrumental music.


With start times in the video:

  1. 00:20 Allegro
  2. 09:10 Andante cantabile
  3. 16:20 Rondeau: Andante grazioso

1. Allegro

The first movement of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218, is marked “Allegro.” It opens with a lively and elegant orchestral introduction that establishes the main themes of the movement. This exposition is characterized by its bright tonality and rhythmic buoyancy, which are hallmarks of Mozart’s style.

Soon after, the solo violin enters, echoing and elaborating upon the themes introduced by the orchestra. Mozart crafts the violin part with meticulous detail, weaving it seamlessly into the orchestral texture while also allowing it moments of virtuosic display and expressive depth. There’s a delightful dialogue between the soloist and the orchestra throughout this movement, as they exchange, develop, and play with the musical ideas.

The underlying structure of the movement follows the classical sonata-allegro form, which includes an exposition where the themes are introduced, a development section where these themes undergo variations and transformations, and a recapitulation where the initial themes return.

Throughout the movement, Mozart showcases his unparalleled gift for melody and his intricate understanding of the violin as an instrument. The result is a captivating blend of grace, energy, and intricate musical interplay, setting the stage for the subsequent movements of the concerto.

2. Andante cantabile

The second movement of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218, is marked “Andante cantabile,” signaling a slower, more song-like tempo and character compared to the vivacious first movement.

This movement stands in contrast to the energetic opening, offering a moment of introspection and lyrical beauty. It’s set in a different key, G major, which provides a change in mood and color. The piece begins with a gentle orchestral introduction, setting the stage for the solo violin’s entry.

When the violin enters, it does so with a tender and expressive melody, demonstrating the instrument’s capacity for vocal-like phrasing and deep emotion. Mozart crafts long, singing lines for the violin, allowing the soloist to weave a narrative filled with warmth and sensitivity.

The Andante cantabile is characterized by its simplicity and elegance. The orchestra and soloist engage in a serene dialogue, exchanging and developing the main themes. The movement’s overall ambiance is one of tranquility and reflection, showcasing Mozart’s ability to convey profound emotion through seemingly simple melodies. This movement serves as a peaceful interlude before the more spirited final movement of the concerto.

3. Rondeau: Andante grazioso

The finale of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 4 is marked “Rondo: Andante grazioso – Allegro ma non troppo.” A “rondo” is a musical form characterized by the recurring return of a principal theme, alternating with contrasting sections.

In this movement, Mozart combines playful energy with graceful lyricism. The recurring rondo theme is introduced by the solo violin, a catchy and buoyant melody that captures the listener’s attention and serves as a touchstone throughout the movement. Each time this theme returns, it brings a sense of familiarity and cohesion.

The contrasting episodes in between the returns of the main theme provide variety and depth. Here, the solo violin often ventures into intricate passages and displays of virtuosity, all while maintaining a spirited and light-hearted tone. There’s a sense of dance in this movement, and the music often feels like a lively conversation between the soloist and the orchestra.

The combination of grace (“grazioso”) and the forward-moving energy (“Allegro ma non-troppo”) in this rondo makes for a delightful conclusion to the concerto. It encapsulates Mozart’s genius in blending technical demands with expressive musicality, ensuring that the work ends on a high, jubilant note.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.