Conducted by Christopher Hogwood, period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge, England, the Academy of Ancient Music performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 19 in E flat major, K. 132. The symphony was composed in July, 1772, when Mozart was 16-year-old.

The symphony has the scoring of two oboes, four horns (two of them uniquely written in “E flat alto”), and strings. There are four movements with an alternative slow movement. With the starting times in the video:

  1. Allegro, 4/4 (0:00)
  2. Andante, 3/8 (4:16)
  3. Menuetto: Trio, 3/4 (13:32)
    • 4.a. Allegro, 2/2 (18:21)
    • 4.b. Andantino grazioso (22:19)


M. Özgür Nevres

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.