Accompanied by the hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra), American violinist Hilary Hahn performs Max Bruch’s (6 January 1838 – 2 October 1920) Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26, one of the most popular violin concertos in the classical repertoire. Conductor: Andrés Orozco-Estrada.

Accompanied by the hr-Sinfonieorchester, Hilary Hahn performs Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1

Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1

According to Joseph Joachim, the Hungarian violinist, conductor, composer, and teacher, Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 is one of the four great German violin concerti.

“The Germans have four violin concertos. The greatest, most uncompromising is Beethoven’s. The one by Brahms vies with it in seriousness. The richest, the most seductive, was written by Max Bruch. But the most inward, the heart’s jewel, is Felix Mendelssohn’s.

The concerto was first completed in 1866 and the first performance was given on 24 April 1866 by the German violinist Otto von Königslow (14 November 1824 in Hamburg, 6 October 1898 in Bonn), with the composer himself conducting. The concerto was then considerably revised with help from celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim (mentioned above) and completed in its present form in 1867. The premiere of the revised concerto was given by Joachim in Bremen on 5 January 1868, with the German organist, composer, and conductor Karl Martin Rheinthaler (13 October 1822 – 13 February 1896) conducting.

The work is scored for solo violin and a standard classical orchestra consisting of two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, four horns, two trumpets, timpani, and strings.


  1. Vorspiel: Allegro moderato (in G minor). The first movement is unusual in that it is a Vorspiel, a prelude, to the second movement, and is directly linked to it The piece starts off slowly, with the melody first taken by the flutes, and then the solo violin becomes audible with a short cadenza. This repeats again, serving as an introduction to the main portion of the movement, which contains a strong first theme and a very melodic, and generally slower, second theme. The movement ends as it began, with the two short cadenzas more virtuosic than before, and the orchestra’s final tutti flows into the second movement, connected by a single low note from the first violins.
  2. Adagio (in E-flat major). The slow second movement is often admired for its melody and is generally considered to be the heart of the concerto. The themes, presented by the violin, are underscored by a constantly moving orchestra part, keeping the movement alive and helping it flow from one part to the next.
  3. Finale: Allegro energico (in G major). The third movement, the finale, opens with an intense, yet quiet, orchestral introduction that yields to the soloist’s statement of the energetic theme in brilliant double stops. It is very much like a dance that moves at a comfortably fast and energetic tempo. The second subject is a fine example of Romantic lyricism, a slower melody that cuts into the movement several times before the dance theme returns with its fireworks. The piece ends with a huge accelerando, leading to a fiery finish that gets higher as it gets faster and louder and eventually concludes with two short, yet grand, chords.
Hilary Hahn performs Max Bruch's Violin concerto No. 1
Hilary Hahn performs Max Bruch’s Violin concerto No. 1


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.