Amsterdam-based Baroque ensemble Combattimento (continuation of the former Combattimento Consort Amsterdam which terminated its activities at the end of January 2014) performs Johann Sebastian Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins, Strings, and Continuo in D Minor, BWV 1043, also known as the Double Violin Concerto or “Bach Double”. Soloists: Quirine van Hoek and Reinier Reijngoud. Recorded during the Sunday Morning Concert on December 25, 2016, at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. Published by AVROTROS Klassiek.

Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043 – Combattimento – Live concert HD


  • Quirine van Hoek: violin
  • Reinier Reijngoud: violin
  • Johan Olof: violin
  • Marjolijn Boersma: violin
  • Erik Olsman: contrabass
  • Marjolein Dispa: viola
  • Pieter Dirksen: harpsichord
  • Sören Leupold: theorbo
  • Wouter Mijnders: cello


Combattimento performs Bach - Bach - Concerto for Two Violins (Double Violin Concerto)

Combattimento plays music from the Baroque period. Known and unknown works from the 17th- and 18th-century baroque music form the core of our repertoire, especially the styles in which fantasy and movement play a major role. Members of Combattimento, each with soloistic qualities contribute a wealth of knowledge and experience with them and want to share with you here in the audience. Together we form a tight ensemble that has worked for years and continues to work on its own sound and playing style: energetic, fiery, style conscious.

The ensemble plays on modern instruments, in the belief that the sound intensity of this better reflects the listening practice of contemporary concertgoers. They look through modern spectacles to baroque music and then make new discoveries. This is mainly an experimental affair that takes shape during rehearsals.

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins (Double Violin Concerto)

“Double Violin Concerto” is perhaps one of the most famous works by Bach and considered among the best examples of the work of the late Baroque period. Bach wrote it between 1717 and 1723 when he was the Kapellmeister at the court of Anhalt-Köthen, Germany. Later in 1739, in Leipzig, he created an arrangement for two harpsichords, transposed into C minor, BWV 1062. In addition to the two soloists, the concerto is scored for strings and basso continuo.

The concerto is characterized by the subtle yet expressive relationship between the violins throughout the work. The musical structure of this piece uses fugal imitation and much counterpoint.

The concerto comprises three movements:

  1. Vivace
  2. Largo ma non tanto
  3. Allegro


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.