Accompanied by the period instrument ensemble Europa Galante, Fabio Biondi performs Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Biondi also conducts the orchestra. Recorded in Nantes in 2003.

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons: Fabio Biondi & Europa Galante

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons

Antonio Vivaldi’s “The Four Seasons” is a set of four violin concertos, each representing a season of the year. They are some of the most popular and recognizable pieces of Baroque music, known for their vivid musical depiction of the seasons and their corresponding moods and activities. Vivaldi accompanied each concerto with a sonnet, possibly written by himself, that describes the scenes depicted in the music.

Spring (Concerto No. 1 in E major, RV 269)

  1. Allegro: Celebrates the arrival of spring with cheerful birdsong, gentle streams, and a soft breeze, encapsulating the season’s joy and vitality.
  2. Largo e pianissimo sempre: A tranquil scene, possibly a sleeping goatherd with his faithful dog by his side, under the serene sky.
  3. Allegro: A festive dance, symbolizing a rustic gathering, complete with floral landscapes and the vibrant sounds of nature.

Summer (Concerto No. 2 in G minor, RV 315)

  1. Allegro non molto: The oppressive heat of summer is depicted, with languid movements suggesting humans suffering under the sun’s fierce blaze.
  2. Adagio e piano – Presto e forte: A sudden thunderstorm interrupts the oppressive heat, bringing relief but also its own form of tension and fear.
  3. Presto: The storm’s aftermath, with its swift and volatile changes, represents the unpredictable nature of summer storms.

Autumn (Concerto No. 3 in F major, RV 293)

  1. Allegro: The music celebrates the harvest with dancing and singing, reflecting the abundance and joy of the season.
  2. Adagio molto: After the day’s festivities, a peaceful, slightly inebriated sleep ensues, evoking the tranquility of a cool evening.
  3. Allegro: The hunt begins at dawn, with horns, guns, and dogs depicted in the music; the pursued animal is caught and dies.

Winter (Concerto No. 4 in F minor, RV 297)

  1. Allegro non molto: The biting cold of winter is represented, with chilling winds and shivering bodies, conveying a sense of struggle against the elements.
  2. Largo: A moment of peace amid the harshness, like a warm fire in a silent, snow-covered landscape.
  3. Allegro: The treacherous ice makes walking precarious, depicted by the music’s sliding scales; the chill wind, slips, and falls create a scene of winter’s dangers.

Each concerto and movement within “The Four Seasons” showcases Vivaldi’s masterful ability to paint vivid pictures through music, using the violin as a primary voice to tell the story of each season’s distinct character and events.

Europa Galante

Vivaldi - Strings Concertos, Europa Galante
Europa Galante. Photo:

Europa Galante is well known for its spirited interpretations of baroque classics. It was founded by violinist and conductor Fabio Biondi (born 15 March 1961 in Palermo, Italy) in 1990 and directed by him.

The ensemble has been invited to play at the most important festivals and concert halls including La Scala in Milan, the Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Suntory Hall in Tokyo, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Royal Albert Hall in London, the Wien Konzerthaus in Vienna, Lincoln Center in New York, the Sydney Opera House, and at Kraków Philharmonic.

Europa Galante has performed together with soloists like Roberta Invernizzi, Vivica Genaux, Ian Bostridge, Sonia Prina, and Philippe Jaroussky.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.