Two Georgian musicians, violinist Lisa Batiashvili and pianist Khatia Buniatishvili perform Franz Schubert’s Rondo in B minor for violin and piano, D 895.

Two Georgian musicians, violinist Lisa Batiashvili and pianist Khatia Buniatishvili perform Franz Schubert’s Rondo in B minor for violin and piano, D 895.

Franz Schubert’s Rondo in B minor for violin and piano

Franz Schubert’s Rondo in B minor for violin and piano, D 895, known as the “Rondeau brillant,” is a captivating piece that showcases Schubert’s masterful ability to blend melodic charm with virtuosic demands.

Composed in 1826, this piece holds a special place in Schubert’s oeuvre, being the first composition for violin and piano he had embarked on in nearly ten years. Its creation was motivated by a commission from Josef Slavik (1806-1833), a talented Czech violinist who also commissioned Schubert’s Fantasy in C, D 934. The premiere, featuring Slavik and pianist Karl Maria von Bocklet in 1827, marked a significant moment in Schubert’s career, as it was the only one of his six works for violin and piano to be published during his lifetime.

The composition comprises a single multi-tempo movement marked Andante – Allegro.

  1. Introduction: Andante
    The piece opens with an Andante, serving as a tranquil yet expressive introduction. In this section, Schubert sets the stage for the dialogue between the violin and piano with a tender and contemplative melody. This Andante is not just a preamble but a thematic foundation that Schubert ingeniously revisits and intertwines within the fabric of the subsequent Allegro. The mood is reflective, drawing listeners into a world of nuanced emotions and anticipation for the dynamic contrast that follows.
  2. Allegro (A-B-A-C-A)
    The main body of the Rondo, marked by an Allegro, unfolds through a spirited and technically challenging A-B-A-C-A structure. Each section contributes to a vivid narrative:
    • The “A” sections are characterized by their energetic and bold themes, showcasing both the violin’s lyrical qualities and its capacity for virtuosic display.
    • The “B” section introduces a contrasting theme, offering a moment of lyrical repose and melodic richness that complements the vigorous nature of the “A” sections.
    • The “C” section, meanwhile, ventures into a different thematic area, providing further contrast and depth to the piece’s emotional landscape. This part amplifies the work’s complexity, blending virtuosity with Schubert’s signature melodic inventiveness.
  3. Coda: Più mosso
    The composition culminates in a coda that revisits the thematic material from the Andante and the B episode of the Allegro, but with a sense of urgency and finality. Marked “Più mosso” in the score and transitioning into B major, this section propels the piece towards its conclusion with increased momentum and brilliance. The coda not only serves as a technical showcase but also as a thematic resolution, weaving together the piece’s various elements into a cohesive whole. The return to the Andante theme in this final section offers a reflective counterpoint to the work’s overall vitality, ensuring that the Rondo ends on a note of triumphant resolution.

Schubert’s Rondo in B minor, D 895, is a testament to his compositional genius, blending lyrical beauty with virtuosic challenges. It offers listeners a rich tapestry of emotions, from the contemplative opening to the exuberant and complex Allegro, culminating in a coda that brings closure and unity to the piece. Through this work, Schubert not only contributed a significant addition to the violin and piano repertoire but also showcased his unique ability to marry technical prowess with profound musical expression.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.