The teachers and the students of the Midwest Conservatory of Music perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 14 in A major, K. 114. Conductor and concertmaster: Taka Matsunaga. Mozart wrote this symphony on December 30, 1771, when he was only fifteen years old.

The teachers and the students of the Midwest Conservatory of Music perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 14 in A major, K. 114. Conductor: Taka Matsunaga.

Mozart’s Symphony No. 14

Mozart composed the symphony fortnight after the death of Archbishop Sigismund von Schrattenbach (28 February 1698 – 16 December 1771), the Prince-Archbishop of Salzburg from 1753 to 1771.

This symphony is part of his Salzburg period works and reflects the influence of both Italian and German musical styles.

The work is in four movements:

  1. Allegro moderato: This movement opens with a bright and lively theme, embodying a cheerful and energetic character. The use of A major lends a bright tonality, and Mozart skillfully weaves together contrasting themes, demonstrating his compositional prowess. The movement is characterized by its clear structure and the playful interplay between the orchestral sections.
  2. Andante: The second movement, Andante, shifts to a more contemplative mood. It’s a stark contrast to the vivacity of the first movement, offering a more lyrical and tender melody. The strings play a prominent role here, with a gentle, flowing theme that showcases Mozart’s ability to create depth and emotion in his compositions.
  3. Menuetto and Trio: The third movement, a Menuetto and Trio, adheres to the traditional dance form typical of symphonies of this period. The Menuetto is graceful and elegant, with a rhythm that evokes the dance halls of the era. The Trio section provides a delightful contrast, typically featuring a change in instrumentation and a lighter, more delicate texture.
  4. Molto allegro: Concluding the symphony is the Molto allegro movement. This final movement is brisk and lively, filled with youthful energy and optimism. It’s characterized by rapid passages, a spirited rhythm, and a joyful exuberance. This movement encapsulates the essence of Mozart’s early style – inventive, exuberant, and masterfully crafted.

Symphony No. 14 is a testament to Mozart’s early genius, showcasing his ability to blend melodious grace with structural precision. Each movement contributes to a cohesive whole, reflecting both the conventions of the time and Mozart’s unique artistic voice.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.