Conducted by Kurt Masur, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig (Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra) plays Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73. Leipzig commemorates 20th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution – the 9th of October 1989, at the Church of St. Nicolai, Leipzig, Germany.

Brahms composed the symphony in the summer of 1877, during a visit to Pörtschach am Wörthersee, a town in the Austrian province of Carinthia. The premiere was given in Vienna on December 30, 1877 by the Wiener Philharmoniker (Vienna Philharmonic) under the direction of Hans Richter, the Austrian–Hungarian orchestral and operatic conductor.

The four movements are:

  1. 00:28 Allegro non troppo (D major)
  2. 16:15 Adagio non troppo (B major)
  3. 25:48 Allegretto grazioso (quasi andantino) (G major)
  4. 31:26 Allegro con spirito (D major)

The Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra (Gewandhausorchester Leipzig; sometimes simply referred to as Gewandhausorchester) is a German symphony orchestra based in Leipzig, Germany. The orchestra is named after the concert hall in which it is based, the Gewandhaus (Cloth Hall or Textile Hall). Its origins can be traced to 1743, when a society called the Grosses Concert began performing in private homes.

From 1970 to 1996, German conductor Kurt Masur (born 18 July 1927) was Gewandhauskapellmeister.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.