Conducted by Sir John Eliot Gardiner, English Baroque Soloists and Monteverdi Choir perform Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut (Lord Jesus Christ, O highest good), BWV 113, a church cantata composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. Soloists: Magdalena Kožená: soprano, William Towers: countertenor, Mark Padmore: tenor, Stephan Loges: bass. Recorded in HD at St Davids Cathedral in Wales in 2000. Director: Rhodri Huw.

Bach composed this chorale cantata in Leipzig for the eleventh Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on 20 August 1724. It is based on a hymn with the same name (1588) by Bartholomäus Ringwaldt (28 November 1532 – c. 1599), the German didactic poet and Lutheran pastor. Ringwaldt is most recognized as a hymnwriter.

The cantata in eight movements is for four vocal soloists (soprano, alto, tenor, and bass), a four-part choir, two oboes d’amore, flauto traverso, two violins, viola and basso continuo.

  1. Chorus: Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut
  2. Chorale (alto): Erbarm dich mein in solcher Last
  3. Aria (bass): Fürwahr, wenn mir das kömmet ein
  4. Recitative + Chorale (bass) Jedoch dein heilsam Wort, das macht
  5. Aria (tenor): Jesus nimmt die Sünder an
  6. Recitative (tenor): Der Heiland nimmt die Sünder an
  7. Aria (soprano, alto): Ach Herr, mein Gott, vergib mirs doch
  8. Chorale: Stärk mich mit deinem Freudengeist


M. Özgür Nevres
Latest posts by M. Özgür Nevres (see all)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.