Italian early music ensemble Il Giardino Armonico (English: the Harmonious Garden) plays Antonio Vivaldi’s Violin Concerto in D major, RV 208 “Grosso Mogul”. Soloist: Enrico Onofri, conductor: Giovanni Antonini. It is the eleventh of Twelve Concertos, Op. 7, a collection of concertos written by the Italian Baroque composer in 1716-1717.

Vivaldi Concerto RV 208 D major ‘Grosso Mogul’ Il Giardino Armonico

There are three movements:

  1. Allegro
  2. Grave
  3. Allegro

Enrico Onofri

Enrico Onofri
Enrico Onofri

Enrico Onofri is born in Ravenna, Italy. His career began with an invitation from Jordi Savall to be concertmaster of La Capella Real. Very soon he also found himself working with groups such as Concentus Musicus Wien, Ensemble Mosaiques and Concerto Italiano. From 1987 to 2010, he’s been concertmaster and soloist with Il Giardino Armonico.

His conducting career began in 2002 to great critical acclaim, receiving invitations from orchestras and festivals in Europe, Japan and Canada. From 2004 to 2013 he’s been principal conductor of Divino Sospiro. Since 2006 he’s guest conductor with Orquesta Barroca de Sevilla. He conducts as well Camerata Bern, Festival Strings Lucerne, Kammerorchester Basel, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa, Cipango Consort Tokyo, Real Orquesta de Sevilla, Orchestre de Clermont Ferrand, Orchestre de l’Opéra de Lyon, Kammerorchester Basel, etc.

He founded the chamber group Imaginarium Ensemble to perform the Italian baroque repertoire.

Enrico Onofri performed in the world’s most famous concert hall including the Musikverein and Konzerthaus in Vienna, Mozarteum in Salzburg, Philarmonie and Unter den Linden Operahouse in Berlin, Alte Oper in Frankfurt, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Teatro San Carlo in Naples, Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York, Wigmore Hall and Barbican Hall in London, Tonhalle in Zurich, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, Auditorio Nacional in Madrid, Oji Hall in Tokio, Osaka Simphony Hall, Colon in Buenos Aires, with artists like Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Gustav Leonhardt, Christophe Coin, Cecilia Bartoli, and Katia and Marielle Labèque.

Many of Enrico Onofri’s recordings with Teldec, Decca, Astrée, Naive, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi/Sony, Passacaille, Nichion, Winter&Winter, Opus111, Virgin, Zig Zag Territoires, etc., have been awarded prestigious international prizes, such as the Grammophone Award, Grand Prix des Discophiles, Echo-Deutsche Schallplattenpreis, Premio Caecilia, Premio Fondazione Cini of Venice, La Nouvelle Academie du Disque and numerous Diapason d’Or, Choc de la Musique, 10 de Répertoire des disques compacts. His concerts are broadcasted by European, American, Asian and Australian networks.

Since 2000, Enrico Onofri is professor of baroque violin and baroque music interpretation at the Conservatorio Bellini in Palermo. He has been invited to give master classes throughout Italy, Europe and Japan; he’s been tutor and invited conductor with EUBO, the European Union Baroque Orchestra and recently the Juilliard School invited him to teach a master class in New York.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.