American classical violinist with Korean origin, Sarah Chang plays Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47. Radio Filharmonisch Orkest (Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra) conducted by Jaap van Zweden.



  1. Allegro moderato (with many tempo changes throughout) in D minor, in 2/2 mostly, with some sections in 6/4 and 4/4 time
  2. Adagio di molto in B-flat major and in 4/4 time
  3. Allegro, ma non tanto in D major and in 3/4 time

Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang
Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang (born Young Joo Chang, on December 10, 1980) is an American classical violinist. She is the daughter of Myoung-Jun, a composer, and Min-Soo Chang, who was a violinist and music teacher. Chang’s parents moved to the United States from South Korea in 1979 for her father’s advanced music degree at Temple University. Recognized as a child prodigy, she first played as a soloist with the New York Philharmonic and the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1989. She enrolled at Juilliard School to study music, graduated in 1999, and continued university studies. Especially during the 1990s and 2000s, Chang had major roles as a soloist with many of the world’s major orchestras.

Chang plays the 1717 Guarneri del Gesù violin, which she received through the late Isaac Stern, and uses a variety of bows: she has said that she prefers a Pajeot for Mozart and Bach; a Sartory for the Tchaikovsky and Sibelius concertos; and two Dominique Peccattes for other music.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.