Marissa Carroll (mandolin) and Joel Woods (guitar) play Niccolò Paganini’s Sonata Concertata, a three-movement piece in A major, op.61 for guitar and violin. Here, the performers use mandolin instead of violin. Performed at the Ian Hanger Recital Hall at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Brisbane, Australia in May 2011.

Marissa Carroll’s mandolin is a 1920s Lyon and Healy Style ‘B’ and Joel Woods’s Guitar is by Australian luthier Kim Lissarrague.


  1. Allegro spiritoso
  2. Adagio assai espressivo
  3. Rondeau – (Allegretto con brio. Scherzando)

In the video below, the piece is performed with its original instruments (guitar and violin) by the Italian violinist Chiara Morandi and the American classical guitarist Eliot Fisk. This performance was a part of the opening concert of the 2nd International Competition for Classical Guitar “Stefano Strata – Città di Pisa”, performed by the great guitarist Eliot Fisk in November 1, 2011.

M. Özgür Nevres

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.