Conducted by Christopher Hogwood, Academy of Ancient Music, period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge plays Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 4 in D major, K. 19. Mozart composed this symphony when he was only 9 years old, during his family’s Grand Tour of Europe in 1765.

There are three movements in the typical fast–slow–fast configuration. It was the standard structure in the early classical music era in which the child Mozart wrote.

  1. Allegro, D major (Common time), 78 bars
  2. Andante, G major, 2/4, 45 bars
  3. Presto, D major, 3/8, 106 bars

The Academy of Ancient Music (AAM) is a period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge, England. Founded by harpsichordist Christopher Hogwood in 1973, it was named after a previous organisation of the same name of the 18th century. The musicians play on either original instruments or modern copies of instruments from the period of time the music was composed. They generally play Baroque and Classical music, though they have also played some new compositions for baroque orchestra in recent years.

The Academy’s current Music Director is Richard Egarr (as of 2015).


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.