Conducted by Christopher Hogwood, period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge, England, the Academy of Ancient Music performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 18 in G major, K. 130.

Mozart composed this symphony in May 1772, when he was 16-year-old. It is the last of three symphonies he composed in May, 1772.

Movements (with starting times in the video):

  1. 00:00 Allegro, 4/4
  2. 05:21 Andantino grazioso, 3/8
  3. 12:11 Menuetto: Trio, 3/4
  4. 14:20 Allegro molto, 4/4

The symphony has the scoring of two flutes, four horns, and strings. There are no oboes in this symphony, they were replaced by flutes for the first time. Mozart also used a second pair of horns in the first and second movements, which is a rarity in his oeuvre.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.