Conducted by Christopher Hogwood, period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge, the Academy of Ancient Music performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 15 in G major, K. 124.

Mozart wrote this symphony in Salzburg during the first weeks of 1772, when he was 16 years old. A note on the autograph manuscript indicates that it might have been written for a religious occasion, possibly in honour of the new Archbishop of Salzburg.

The work is in four movements, the first of which has been described as innovative and “daring”, in view of its variations of tempo. The last movement is characterized by good humor and frivolity, with “enough ending jokes to bring the house down”.

  1. Allegro, 3/4
  2. Andante, C major, 2/4
  3. Menuetto and Trio, trio in D major, 3/4
  4. Presto, 2/4


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.