Conducted by Christopher Hogwood, the Academy of Ancient Music (a period-instrument orchestra based in Cambridge, United Kingdom) performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 13 in F major, K. 112. The symphony was written in Milan during the autumn of 1771 (probably finished on November 2, 1771), when the composer is 15-year-old.


Its probable first performance was at a concert given by Leopold (the father of the composer) and Wolfgang Mozart at the residence of Albert Michael von Mayr, on 22 or 23 November 1771. This concert may also have seen the premiere of Mozart’s 12th Symphony in G major, K. 110/75b.

The work is in four movements:

  1. Allegro, 3/4
  2. Andante, 2/4. The second movement is scored for strings alone.
  3. Menuetto and Trio, 3/4. The third movement minuet may have been written earlier, and then incorporated into the symphony—the autograph manuscript shows the minuet copied in Leopold Mozart’s hand.
  4. Molto Allegro, 3/8


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.