Amsterdam based Dutch string orchestra Amsterdam Sinfonietta performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E-flat major, K. 364 (320d). Sergei Khachatrian, violin; Candida Thompson, viola.



  1. Allegro maestoso, common time
  2. Andante, 3/4, in C minor
  3. Presto, 2/4

Read more about Sinfonia Concertante

Candida Thompson

Candida Thompson
Candida Thompson

Candida Thompson was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1967. She has been living in Amsterdam since 1992. She studied with David Takeno at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, where she received her soloist’s graduation diploma with honour. She developed her qualities further at the Banff Centre for the Arts in Canada. She also participated in various national and international competitions and received several prizes.

Currently she plays a Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume violin.

Candida Thompson has been Amsterdam Sinfonietta’s concertmaster since 1995 and its Artistic Director and Leader since 2003. This string orchestra of twenty-two players, founded in 1988, performs under her guidance with a strong conviction that similarly minded players are stronger as a group if each individual upholds the responsibility. In the recent past Amsterdam Sinfonietta has performed both in the Netherlands and abroad with soloists such as Murray Perahia, Thomas Hampson, Maxim Vengerov, Christianne Stotijn, Martin Frost and Gidon Kremer. The orchestra also actively commissions composers such as HK Gruber, Aulis Sallinen, John McCabe and Michel van der Aa.

Sergey Khachatryan

Sergey Khachatryan
Sergey Khachatryan. Photo:

Sergey Khachatryan (also spelled Sergei Khachatryan) (born 5 April 1985 in Yerevan) is an Armenian violinist.[1] Since 1993 he has lived in Germany where he gave his first orchestral concert at the age of nine in the Kurhaus, Wiesbaden.

He made his New York City debut on August 4, 2006, playing the Beethoven Violin Concerto in Avery Fisher Hall under the baton of Osmo Vänskä.[2] In June 2013, he played Shostakovich’s first Violin Concerto with the Seattle Symphony and Ludovic Morlot conducting.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.