Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir perform Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 52, commonly known as Lobgesang (Hymn of Praise), composed in 1840. Conductor: Markus Stenz. January 23, 2015 in De Vrijdag van Vredenburg, TivoliVrededenburg, Utrecht.


Markus Stenz, conductor

Rosemary Joshua, soprano
Rosanne van Sandwijk, soprano
Attilio Glaser, tenor
Maxim Rysanov, viola

Lobgesang (Hymn of Praise), Op. 52 – Felix Mendelssohn’s description of the work was “A Symphony-Cantata on Words of the Holy Bible, for Soloists, Chorus and Orchestra”. After the composer’s death it was also published as his Symphony No. 2 in B-flat major, a naming and numbering that is not Mendelssohn’s. It requires two sopranos and a tenor as soloists, along with a chorus and orchestra. It lasts almost twice as long as any of Mendelssohn’s other four symphonies.

Structurally, it consists of three purely orchestral movements followed by 10 movements for chorus and/or soloists and orchestra.

  1. Symphony
    1. Maestoso con moto – Allegro
    2. Allegretto un poco agitato
    3. Adagio religioso
  2. Chor; Sopran und Frauenchor. The English titles of the 10 vocal movements are:
    1. All men, all things, all that have life and breath
    2. Praise ye the Lord O ye Spirit
    3. Sing ye Praise
    4. All ye that cried unto the Lord
    5. I waited for the Lord
    6. The Shadows of Death
    7. The Night is Departing
    8. Let all men praise the Lord
    9. My song shall be always Thy Mercy
    10. Ye nations, offer to the Lord.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.