The Wiener Philharmoniker (Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra) plays Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 104 in D major (H. 1/104). BBC Proms 2012, London. Conductor: Bernard Haitink. It is Haydn’s last symphony, and the last of the twelve so-called London Symphonies, and is known (somewhat arbitrarily, given the existence of eleven others) as the London Symphony.

The work was composed in 1795 while Haydn was living in London, and premiered there at the King’s Theatre on 4 May 1795, in a concert featuring Haydn’s own compositions and directed by the composer. The premiere was a success; Haydn wrote in his diary “The whole company was thoroughly pleased and so was I. I made 4000 gulden on this evening: such a thing is possible only in England.”

The four movements are:

  1. Adagio – Allegro
  2. Andante
  3. Menuetto and Trio: Allegro
  4. Finale: Spiritoso


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.