Conducted by Jordi Savall, international early music ensemble Hespèrion XXI and the orchestra with period instruments Le Concert des Nations perform Messe et motets pour la Vierge (mass and motets for the Virgin) by Marc-Antoine Charpentier. Recorded at the Le Chateau de Versailles in 2004. Directed by Olivier Simonnet and broadcast by MEZZO.

Marc Antoine Charpentier: Messe et Motets pour la Vierge – Jordi Savall, Le Concert des Nations

Messe et Motets pour la Vierge (1698)

  1. Canticum in honorem Beate Virginis Mariae inter hominess et angelos (H.400)
  2. In Nativitatem Domini Canticum: nuit (H.416)
  3. Stabat Mater pour des religieuses (H.15)
  4. Litanies de la Vierge a 6 voix et 2 dessus de violes (H.83)
  5. Missa Assumpta Est Maria (H.11a)


  • Arianna Savall, soprano
  • Raphaële Kennedy, soprano
  • Elisabetta Tiso, soprano
  • Judit Scherrer-Kleber, mezzo-soprano
  • Pascal Bertin, countertenor
  • Emmanuel Bardon, countertenor
  • Jean François Novelli, tenor
  • Lluis Vilamajo, tenor
  • Jordi Ricart, baritone
  • Daniele Carnovich, bass
  • Yves Bergé, bass
  • Jordi Savall, pardessus de viole
  • Imke David, haute-contre de viole
  • Joanna Valencia, tenor viol
  • Guido Balestracci, bass viol
  • Bruno Cocset, bass violin
  • Xavier Puertas, violone
  • Marc Hantai & Charles Zebley, transverse flutes
  • Xavier Diaz-Latorre, theorbo
  • Luca Guglielmi, organ and harpsichord

Hespèrion XXI

Hespèrion XXI is an international early music ensemble. The group was formed in Basel, Switzerland in 1974 as Hespèrion XX by Spanish musical director Jordi Savall (bowed string instruments, particularly the viola da gamba), his wife Montserrat Figueras (soprano), Lorenzo Alpert (flute, percussion), and Hopkinson Smith (plucked string instruments). The group changed its name to Hesperion XXI at the beginning of the 21st century. The name “Hespèrion” is derived from a word in Classical Greek which referred to the people of the Italian and Iberian peninsulas.

The ensemble is noted for its scholarship in early music — especially the music of 16th and 17th century Spain. Their performance practice is noted for the liberal use of improvisation around the basic melodic and rhythmic structures of the early pieces, resulting in great emotional intimacy and immediacy.

Le Concert des Nations

Le Concert des Nations is an orchestra with period instruments, able to perform the orchestral and symphonic repertoire from the Baroque to Romanticism: 1600 – 1900. The orchestra was created in 1989, the youngest of the groups conducted by the Catalan maestro and viola da gamba virtuoso Jordi Savall. Le Concert des Nations is the first orchestra of its kind made up of musicians who originate mainly from Latin countries (Spain, South America, Italy, Portugal, France as well as many other countries). The name Le Concert des Nations refers to the work by François Couperin as an assembly of “tastes” and bears the mark of the Age of Enlightenment. Le Concert des Nations is the orchestra of La Capella Reial de Catalunya.


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Join the Conversation


  1. Thanks for this interesting information, but the video is not available. Please, upload this again.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.