Moldovan-Austrian violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Turkish pianist Fazıl Say perform Johannes Brahms’ Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108. Composed between 1878 and 1888, it is the last violin sonata of the German composer.

The sonata is dedicated to Brahms’ friend and colleague Hans von Bülow (January 8, 1830 – February 12, 1894), the German conductor, virtuoso pianist, and composer of the Romantic era; and was premiered in Budapest in 1888 with Jenő Hubay (15 September 1858 – 12 March 1937), also known by his German name Eugen Huber), the Hungarian violinist, composer and music teacher on violin and the composer himself at the piano.

There are four movements, unlike the two previous violin sonatas of the composer, each in three movements.

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Un poco presto e con sentimento
  4. Presto agitato


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.