Alban Berg Quartet plays Ludwig van Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 2 in G major, op. 18, No. 2. The quartet was composed between 1798 and 1800 and published in 1801.

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 2 Op. 18 in G major (Alban Berg Quartett)

There are four movements:

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio cantabile – Allegro – Tempo I
  3. Scherzo: Allegro
  4. Allegro molto, quasi presto

It was also named “Komplimentierquartett” especially due to the extremely jovial character of the first theme, often interpreted as a sequence of ceremonial salutes. In its expression, the G major quartet pays tribute to the preclassical period, but also to the atmosphere of entertainment specific to the works of Haydn or Mozart.

Alban Berg Quartet:

Günter Pichler, violin 1
Gerhard Schulz, violin 2
Thomas Kakuska, viola
Valentin Erben, cello


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.