Accompanied by the Wiener Philharmoniker (the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra), Polish classical pianist Krystian Zimerman performs Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58. Conductor: Leonard Bernstein.

Beethoven – Piano Concerto No 4 – Zimerman, Wiener Philharmoniker, Bernstein (1989)

Zimerman is widely considered one of the finest living classical pianists. With the Wiener Philharmoniker, one of the world’s finest orchestras, and the great American conductor Leonard Bernstein, this performance is really a treasure of classical music.

The concerto was composed in 1805 – 1806 and premiered in March 1807 at a private concert at the home of Prince Franz Joseph von Lobkowitz (8 December 1772 – 16 December 1816), an aristocrat of Bohemia, from the House of Lobkowicz. He is known particularly for his interest in music and as a patron of Ludwig van Beethoven. He was also an amateur musician, playing violin and cello, and sang with a bass voice. The public premiere was not until a concert on 22 December 1808 at Vienna’s Theater an der Wien. The composer himself took the stage as the soloist.

The work is scored for solo piano and an orchestra consisting of a flute, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns, two trumpets, timpani, and strings. There are three movements:

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Andante con moto
  3. Rondo (Vivace)


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, a former road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. This website's all income goes directly to our furry friends. Please consider supporting me on Patreon, so I can help more animals!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.