Daniel Barenboim plays Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13, commonly known as Sonata Pathétique. Live in Berlin (2005). The piece is one of the composer’s most celebrated compositions.

Barenboim plays Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 8 Op. 13 (Pathétique)

The sonata was written in 1798 when the composer was 27 years old, and was published in 1799. Beethoven dedicated the work to his friend Prince Karl von Lichnowsky (the second Prince Lichnowsky and a Chamberlain at the Imperial Austrian court, he is remembered for his patronage of music and his relationships with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven). Although commonly thought to be one of the few works to be named by the composer himself, it was actually named Grande sonate pathétique (to Beethoven’s liking) by the publisher, who was impressed by the sonata’s tragic sonorities.

The sonata consists of three movements:

  1. Grave (Slowly, with solemnity) – Allegro di molto e con brio (Quickly, with much vigour)
  2. Adagio cantabile (Slowly, in a singing style)
  3. Rondo: Allegro (Quickly)

I strongly encourage all viewers to buy this fantastic DVD collection by following this link – a fantastic collection with magnificent playing from Barenboim: Barenboim on Beethoven – The Complete Piano Sonatas Live from Berlin


M. Özgür Nevres

Published by M. Özgür Nevres

I am Özgür Nevres, a software engineer, an ex-road racing cyclist, and also an amateur musician. I opened andantemoderato.com to share my favorite music. I also take care of stray cats & dogs. Please consider supporting me on Patreon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.