Accompanied by Kaunas Vytautas Magnus University Chamber Orchestra, Lithuanian pianist Adele Daunoraviciute performs Johann Sebastian Bach’s Harpsichord Concerto No. 5 in F minor, BWV 1056. Conductor: Robertas Bliskevicius.

Solo harpsichord Adele Daunoraviciute, Klaipeda University Art faculty-student (class of prof. Tatiana Romashkina).
Kaunas Vytautas Magnus University Chamber Orchestra, led by Robertas Bliskevicius.

Bach’s harpsichord concertos are among the first concertos for keyboard instrument ever written. Most of them, though, (with the exception of the 5th Brandenburg Concerto) are thought to be arrangements made from earlier concertos for melodic instruments probably written in the German city of Köthen. Bach resided and worked there from 1717 to 1723. In many cases, only the harpsichord version has survived.

The outer movements of this concerto probably come from a violin concerto which was in G minor, and the middle movement is probably from an oboe concerto in F major; this movement is also the sinfonia to the cantata Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe, BWV 156.

This middle movement closely resembles the opening Andante of a Flute Concerto in G major (TWV 51:G2) by Georg Philipp Telemann; the soloists play essentially identical notes for the first two-and-a-half measures. Although the chronology cannot be known for certain, Steven Zohn has presented evidence that the Telemann concerto came first, and that Bach intended his movement as an elaboration of his friend Telemann’s original.

Adele Daunoraviciute

Adele Daunoraviciute
Adele Daunoraviciute

Adele Daunoraviciute was born on 29 April 1991 in Klaipeda, Lithuania. She began her musical training at the Vyturio primary school with musical education (teacher – methodologist Edita Šapolaitė). From 2005 to 2009, she studied music at Klaipėda S. Šimkaus conservatoire with teacher-expert Jūratė Liutkienė. Since 2010 and until 2016 Adele studied at the Klaipeda University of Arts Faculty in the Professor Tatjana Romashkina (Svobodina) piano class. There she acquired Master’s of Music Degree and bachelor’s degree in Education with performer as a professional qualification.

She participated in master classes with professors Petras Geniusas, Walter Groppenberger, Ksenia Knorre, Vladimir Slobodian, Alexander Puliaev. Albina Šikšniūtė, Zbignevas Ibelhauptas, Jurgis Karnavičius, Vera Nosina, Eleonora Thach, Aik Grygorian, 2010 – ‘New music generation’ – master classes and individual lessons with Alexei Grynyuk, Igor Lovchinsky, Miroslav Kultyshev, Kasparas Uinskas.


M. Özgür Nevres
Latest posts by M. Özgür Nevres (see all)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.